Volume XII / 2023
The University of Texas at Arlington | College of Engineering

Honoring a Mentor

Vasant and Barbara Prabhu.jpg
Vasant and Barbara Prabhu

The Barbara and Vasant Prabhu Scholarship Endowed By His Graduate Students was established by electrical engineering alumni Mini Vasudevan ('98 PhD, '93 MS), Stone Tseng ('94 PhD, '87 MS), Arun Bhikshesvaran ('95 MS), Srinivas Pillappakkam ('96 MS), Cesar Heyaime-Duvergé ('03 PhD, '97 MS), Kiran Kuchi ('06 PhD, '97 MS), and Tony Wong ('99 PhD, '87 MS) to fund scholarships for top-performing international students in the Department of Electrical Engineering, with preference given to those whose thesis focus is communications and signal processing.

"It is our hope that this scholarship will provide deserving international students a chance to focus on their education, and that recipients will remember our stories and be proud of the legacy of Dr. Prabhu," Dr. Wong says.